KDRAMA REVIEW | Eve

Eve is a South Korean television series starring Seo Yea-ji, Park Byung-eun, Yoo Sun, and Lee Sang-yeob.

Title: Eve

Hangul: 이브

Genre(s): Melodrama, Revenge

Episodes: 16

Duration: 60 minutes

Release Date: June 1 – July 21, 2022

Network: tvN

Eve tells the story of a chaebol family ₩2 trillion divorce lawsuit that shocks the entire nation, of which, at the center of the lawsuit is Lee La-el (Seo Yea-ji), the daughter of the chaebol family.


Eve is like an evening: stellar, dark, and sorrowful. A gripping series armed with stirring plot, striking twists and turns, commendable acting, lavish production, and palpable musical scoring. Revenge was never been this mercilessly enraging! If others served revenge in a cold manner, Eve served it hot! It will catch your attention from start to finish. Intense is an understatement. Honestly, it started with the loudest bang. It had all it takes to be one of the best, unfortunately, it stumbled along its way to the end. Nonetheless, it served a tension-inducing dish of bittersweet revenge in an extravagant platter.


Intense and intoxicating. These words perfectly describes Eve. This show astonished me because it totally had me at the edge of my seat. The tension in the series is extremely visceral to the extent that it will end up suffocating and drowning you. Straight from the beginning, I was really rooting for this drama. Honestly, it gave me feelings that I never felt in the longest time in a revenge drama. What I really admire about this series is that it was indeed affecting. It has the ability to make the viewers be part of the show. That’s why I am sad that in the end, they lost their way to the right path. Nevertheless, Eve gave the audience a thrilling entertainment.

From left to right: Lee Sang-yeob (Seo Eun-pyung), Seo Yea-ji (Lee La-el/Kim Sun-bin), Park Byung-eun (Kang Yoon-gyeom) and Yoo Sun (Han So-ra)

The cast of Eve complemented the strong storyline. If the plot will send you to a whirlwind of emotions, the actors in this series will bring those emotions to another level. Park Byung-eun gave a subtle performance. Maybe it was the requirement for his character. Nonetheless, it was still quite good. I don’t know if other viewers will find my comment about him as disrespect but I think that they could have a better job at casting his role. One of the factors why Eve fell flat was because of their decision in making Lee Sang-yeob‘s character a mere spectator. I feel like they did not use him into his maximum capacity. At first, his character felt like has a huge contribution to the story but after that, he was no where to be found. You can read more about this below. Yoo Sun is undoubtedly the dark horse of the show. She emerge to be one of the people (Seo Yea-ji) who carried the whole series. She did her assignment! She was so good in her craft. Every time she’s having a meltdown, I am just in awe. Speechless. It was extremely effective to the extent that I forgot that I was watching a fictional show. She totally surprised me with her range. Hands down to this woman. And lastly…

Seo Yea-ji as Lee La-el/Kim Sun-bin

Seo Yea-ji’s comeback is indeed remarkable. The controversies and scandals that she had been through were not a joke. A lot of people tried so hard to drag her down but she proved them all wrong. She came back with vengeance. She made an impressive comeback. You can’t deny the fact that Seo Yea-ji is indeed in her element when she’s part of dramas with this genre. I think, it is safe to say that this is one of her greatest performances to date. Her performance here was done with fiery passion. Her eyes can make you feel hundreds of emotions. Her voice alone can give you goosebumps. She carried the show behind her back. She seduced everyone with her sultry acting and she is unapologetic about it. She finally reclaimed her spot in the industry!

No doubt, Eve really started in the most impactful way. I was at the edge of my seat during the first half. It’s just sad that it stumbled at some aspects. My main concern has something to do with Lee Sang-yeob. I feel like he was robbed in this series. With the caliber of this actor, I honestly think that he don’t deserve such treatment. His role only got a short screen time. I even think that the writers did not utilize his character that well. I already saw some of his filmography and I know for a fact that this is not the billing that he deserve. I am also having a mixed-emotions on how the story turned out. I felt that it was dragged out towards the ending. I just hope that they stick with the main theme of the drama which is revenge. Admit it or not, Eve was on its peak when Lee La-el is living up to her promise to take down the chaebol family. Nonetheless, it still succeeded in giving us a blood-boiling and exhilarating experience.

One of the strongest suits of this drama is its pitch-perfect musical scoring. It was done so well! This drama is only one of those series that has such excellent aspect. The musical scoring is indeed effective in making the audience feel what the characters are going through. Even if there are no dialogues at all, the musical scoring alone can move you. I also love the songs that were used in this show. My favorite among them all is Kim Ye-ji’s Hold Me Tight. That song is giving badass vibe! Here’s the link to the full album for listening pleasure:

“If you don’t see what’s behind the beauty, you cannot face the truth of life.”

Rating: 3.5/5

Published by Ady of Annyeong Kimchi Land

The #1 go-to source when it comes to Korean Drama (and TV shows from other asian countries such as Japan, China, Thailand, etc.) and KMovie Reviews. Giving you the latest and hottest happenings in Kimchi Land at the comfort of your screen! Annyeong Kimchi Land vows to unleash the fangirl inside you ~

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started